Batchewana First Nation Announces Election Results

Batchewana First Nation Logo

On December 2, 3014 a polling notice was issued notifying the Batchewana First Nation’s Band Members of the 2015 election. Candidates began their campaigning, which included a submission in the First Nation’s Special Election Newsletter stating individual platforms and priorities. Voting took place in the Thunderbird room at the Rankin arena, beginning yesterday (February 4, 2015) at 9:00 am polls closed at 8:00 pm last night.

Batchewana First Nation is pleased to announce the elected candidates for Chief and Council 2015 – 2017 term:

To the Office of Chief:

  • SAYERS, Dean

To the Office of Councillor:

  • BELL, Harvey
  • TIJERINA, Stacy
  • TEGOSH, Lynn
  • MADIGAN (BOYER), Adele
  • AGAWA, Greg Joseph
  • SYRETTE, Vernon
  • LESAGE, Patricia Anne

Re-elected Chief Dean Sayers had this to say, “On behalf of the Council I would like to express my gratitude to everyone who took part in the election. Our citizens have a strong voice, and have provided each of us with a distinct mandate. We have dynamic leaders guiding our First Nation and we look forward to getting back to our progressive agenda.”


For more information please contact Alexandra Syrette, Communications Coordinator, Batchewana First Nation, (705) 759-0914 x 247.